Go to content
About us

Akvaplan-niva is a daughter company of the Norwegian Institute for Water Research (NIVA).

Akvaplan-niva has 130 employees of which several hold Prof. II positions at Universities in Norway and abroad.

In addition to our main office in the Fram Centre in Tromsø we have offices in Alta, Bodø, Trondheim, Bergen, Oslo, Ski and Reykjavik, Iceland.

Office locations

Leader group

Merete Kristiansen

Managing Director

mkr@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 975 18 909

Tromsø

Anton Giæver

Deputy Managing Director

agi@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 482 96 459

Tromsø

Anita Evenset

Department Director

aev@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 990 01 591

Tromsø

Marianne Frantzen

Department Director

mfr@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 971 98 766

Tromsø

JoLynn Carroll

R&D Manager

jlc@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 470 43 844

Tromsø

Guttorm Christensen

R&D Manager

gnc@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 980 28 619

Tromsø

Albert Imsland

R&D Manager

aki@akvaplan.niva.no

+354 562 58 00

Reykjavik (ISL)

Paul Renaud

R&D Manager

paul.renaud@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 954 70 110

Tromsø

Heidi Emaus

Chief of Staff

hem@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 958 48 314

Tromsø

Section leaders

Atle Foss

Head of Section

atf@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 450 35 657

Bergen

Claudia Halsband

Head of Section

clh@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 902 70 655

Tromsø

Thor Arne Hangstad

Head of Section

thor.arne.hangstad@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 905 09 823

Tromsø

Lars-Henrik Larsen

Head of Section

lhl@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 481 14 233

Tromsø

Ole Anders Nøst

Head of Section

ole.anders.nost@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 971 84 771

Trondheim

Kjetil Sagerup

Head of Section

kjetil.sagerup@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 480 69 976

Tromsø

Lars Olav Sparboe

Head of Section

sparboe@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 950 58 338

Tromsø

Kristine Hopland Sperre

Head of Section

kristine.hopland.sperre@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 995 84 930

Tromsø

Kristine Steffensen

Head of Section

kristine.steffensen@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 971 22 656

Tromsø

Lisa Torske

Head of Section

lisa.torske@akvaplan.niva.no

+47 909 74 974

Tromsø

Board

  • Tor-Petter Johnsen (NIVA), styreleder
  • Thorjørn Larssen (NIVA), styremedlem
  • Åse Åtland (NIVA), styremedlem
  • Ingrid Schjølberg (NTNU), styremedlem
  • Alfred Hansen (UiT), styremedlem
  • Kjetil Sagerup (Akvaplan-niva), styremedlem ansattevalgt
  • Kristin Sæther (Akvaplan-niva), styremedlem ansattevalgt

Other pages